Month: January 2020

Anne Doyle and James Kavanagh to co-host GALAS LGBT+ awards

Anne Doyle, former RTÉ broadcaster and journalist along with James Kavanagh, writer, presenter and social media influencer have been announced as the co-hosts of the GALAS LGBT+ awards taking place in the Mansion House on February 8th.

The GALAS honour those who work towards a better future for LGBT+ people in Ireland and across the globe and were established by the National Gay and Lesbian Federation (NXF) and Gay Community News (GCN) in 2009.

The renowned duo will announce the overall recipients from a shortlist of nominees in fifteen different categories; including the results of a public vote in two categories; Entertainment and Arts and Public Figure.

Nominees on the awards shortlist include activist Ailbhe Smyth, political representatives Jerry Buttimer and Katherine Zappone, actor Jack Shaun Murphy, GAA referee David Gough, former Cork footballer Valerie Mulcahy, HIV campaigners Robbie Lawlor and Will St Leger and organisations such as the INTO (Irish National Teachers Organisation), Accenture, AIB and Bank of Ireland.

Previous recipients of the GALAS include former President of Ireland, Mary McAleese, Senator David Norris, former politician Averil Power, journalist Fintan O’Toole and organisations such as An Garda Síochána, Marriage Equality and EY Ireland.

Caroline Keane, NXF chairperson said:

“The GALAS have been an inspiration and source of strength for our community since their inception in 2009. We are honoured to continue the tradition in the year that we mark the 40th anniversary of the National LGBT Federation which was started in 1979 by a group of people who wanted to make a difference to the lives of LGBT+ people in Ireland and abroad. This year has seen a record number of nominations for the 15+ categories that honour individuals and groups.

We are particularly delighted to announce Anne and James, both huge icons of the community, as our entertaining and inspiring co-hosts for the evening”.

Lisa Connell, Managing Editor of GCN said:

“The GALAS are an opportunity to recognise the ground-breaking work done within our communities and the breath-taking commitment to social change and human rights”.

The GALAS take place in the Mansion House, Dublin on Saturday, 8th February with tickets available at

Pictured (l-r) Lisa Connell, Managing Editor, GCN, Anne Doyle, co-host GALAS 2020, James Kavanagh, co-host GALAS 2020, Caroline Keane, Chairperson NXF -image c/o Julien Behal Photography

The shortlist of nominees is as follows:

Community Organisation: (Volunteer Staff)
Dublin Lesbian Line, Act Up, Equality for Children, Dublin Trans Peer Support Group

Community Organisation (Paid Staff)
UP Cork Youth Group, OutHouse, Shout Out, Gay Project

Volunteer of the Year
Dr Aintzane Legarreta Mentxaka (‘Maken’), Maureen Looney, Robbie Lawlor, Will St.Leger

Outstanding Company
Fostering First Ireland, Arthur Cox, Dell Technologies, Accenture

LGBT+ Young Trailblazer
Esther Young, Brandon O’Connor, Alannah Murray, Seamus Byrne

Sports Awards
Valerie Mulcahy, David Gough, Emerald Warriors, Dublin Front Runners

Digital Changer Maker
Alexis Riva, The Big Gay Bucket List, Call it Out, Orla Egan (Cork LGBT Digital Archive)

Educate Together, Senator Ged Nash, Siobhan O’Dea (GMHS), Holly Shortall

Event of the Year
Belfast Pride 2019, Dublin Pride 2019, Call It Out Campaign, Different Families, Same Love

Public Figure
Senator Fintan Warfield, Jack Shaun Murphy, Senator Jerry Buttimer, Minister Katherine Zappone, Cllr Owen Hanley

LGBT+ Role Model
Sara Phillips, Eddie McGuiness, Adam Shanley, Ailbhe Smyth

LGBT+ Employee Resource Group
AIB Pride Matters, Bank of Ireland Pride Committee, OutLaw, Irish Life PRIDE Committee

Entertainment & Arts
Rodrigo Ternevoy, LINC Drama Group, Jack Shaun Murphy, DJ Gerry Moore, Acting Out- The Decriminalisation Monologues

Noel Walsh, HIV Activism

ACT UP, HIV Ireland, Andrew Levitt, Robbie Lawlor

International Award
Syinat Sultanalieve (Kyrgyzstan), Zhanar Sekerbayeva (Kazakhstan), Nayyab Ali (Pakistan), Gilmara Cunha (Brazil)